I've been on the job hunt for eight months now, and my optimism is dwindling.(MBA and Strategic Marketing Degrees.)

Hello. I typically don’t seek advice or vent online, but I’m at my wit’s end and have nowhere else to turn. I’m a 24-year-old white male. I earned a Bachelor’s in Strategic Marketing in 2021 and stayed an extra year due to COVID-19 to get a Master’s in Business Administration in 2022. Since graduating, I’ve been struggling to find work.

My last job was on-campus in 2022, which I lost upon graduating. Here’s my issue: I’ve applied to hundreds of jobs, but entry-level positions require ridiculous levels of experience, making it impossible to gain that experience. I also considered sales, but most jobs offer 100% commission, which is financially unstable. Companies have been ignoring my applications, and I tried jobs outside my field or those not requiring a degree with no success.

I’ve even applied to unexpected positions, but still no luck. It’s been over a year and a half of unemployment, and I’m feeling depressed and worthless. My family’s pressure doesn’t help, and I feel disadvantaged in the job market due to my ethnicity and gender. I’m starting to regret going to college and resent my degrees. I’m reaching out to ask for guidance, how can I change my approach to secure employment? If anyone’s been through a similar situation, how did you break out of this cycle? Any advice is appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to read and listen to my challenges.

Are you applying to jobs outside your area?
What has your school’s placement dept. done to help you?