I'm launching a community for first-time managers seeking peer advice, practical tips, and best practices

As a new manager myself (with 1.5 years of experience and five direct reports), I’ve spent a lot of time researching and seeking guidance on how to be an effective leader for my team. However, I’ve encountered a lot of advice that’s either ineffective, potentially problematic (like encouraging micromanagement), or too general, focusing more on general career advice than specific management insights.

I’ve also noticed a lack of resources tailored to those who are just beginning their management journey. People who have been in management roles for a while tend to forget the challenges newcomers face. Connecting with peers at a similar career stage can be far more valuable.

Starting out as a manager is often characterized by uncertainty and many questions. However, turning to your own boss for help can sometimes make you feel incompetent in your new role. Furthermore, once you have your own team, you must navigate new dynamics when dealing with company leadership, which is another learning curve. Essentially, you’re trying to learn how to manage your team while also managing up effectively.

I’ve attended several leadership development group meetings, but they didn’t quite meet my needs. I believe I’m not the only one facing this challenge, so I’m considering launching a community where fellow new managers like me can connect and share knowledge. Sometimes, simply having the opportunity to chat with others facing similar challenges and knowing you’re not alone can be immensely helpful.

So, my question is: Would you find a community dedicated to first-time managers valuable? If so, what kind of support and resources would you like to see in this community?

1 Like